Understanding Proficiency in Baldur’s Gate 3

Proficiency in Baldur’s Gate 3 is a beneficial buff that can make your gameplay easier and your level-ups more significant. With the game set to release next month, having a good understanding of how this buff works can give you an advantage over other players. Here is everything you need to know about proficiency in Baldur’s Gate 3.

As the launch date for Baldur’s Gate 3 approaches, eager fans are looking forward to exploring all the features of the game, which has been in early access for quite some time. One of these features is the concept of proficiency, a crucial element that can elevate your gameplay regardless of the skills you choose.

As you progress through the campaign, understanding how proficiency works becomes important as it can enhance your rolls and improve your key skills. Here’s all you need to know about the proficiency bonus in Baldur’s Gate 3.

Larian Studios

Proficiency is a bonus that improves the dice roll of a skill.

How Does Proficiency Work in Baldur’s Gate 3?

Proficiency is a bonus that can enhance the number added to the dice roll when a character attempts a skill they are proficient in.

For example, in Baldur’s Gate 3, if a player has proficiency in Stealth, their Stealth roll numbers will automatically be increased by any proficiency bonus based on their level. This means that if a character is proficient in Stealth, their original +2 stat will also include the proficiency bonus tied to their player level, resulting in a higher bonus.

How to Increase Proficiency in Baldur’s Gate 3

To increase proficiency in the game, players simply need to level up.

Progressing through the game, completing missions, and engaging in activities that earn XP will help players reach the next level. However, keep in mind that proficiencies may be tied to specific classes, so it’s important to know which areas you want to focus on as you embark on your journey.

Here is a breakdown of the proficiency bonuses and the corresponding levels required to increase them:

  • Player Level 1-4: +2 proficiency
  • Player Level 5-8: +3 proficiency
  • Player Level 9-12: +4 proficiency
  • Player Level 13-16: +5 proficiency
  • Player Level 17-20: +6 proficiency


To Top